Solar energy / How does a solar power plant work?

In general, each solar power plant consists of two basic units.

The first is represented by solar photovoltaic modules or solar cells. Silicon, which is abundant in nature, is most commonly used to make cells in photovoltaic modules.

Solar cells are a direct converter of solar energy into electricity. Sunlight falling on a solar cell causes the movement of electrons in it, resulting in a direct electric current. But as this cannot be used in home appliances, we must first convert the direct current to alternating current. This is accomplished by another set: inverters. Only alternating current is usable for household consumption or for sending to the power grid.

Each solar power plant consists of:

  1. Photovoltaic modules or solar cells: collect solar energy and convert it into direct current.
  2. Inverter: converts direct current into alternating current that can be used in our homes.
  3. Electrical cabinet: a cabinet that controls and manages all circuits and devices of the solar power plant.
  4. Consumers
  5. Counter: measures the electricity produced,
  6. Network.

Large solar power plants, which are installed on the ground, usually transmit electricity directly to the public distribution network. We also have such solar power plants in the HSE Group.